We are getting closer and closer to the start of the Qatar 2022 World Cup and each of the 32 teams that will play in the World Cup are getting ready to fight for the dreamed trophy of world champions and thus write their name in the historical book of winners, which was recently updated by France, after being champions in Russia 2018.

After a series of failures and disappointments, including elimination in the group stage of Brazil 2014 without winning a single match, England has improved a lot in their last two major tournaments played under Gareth Southgate, but have ended with tears in their eyes: a goal by Croatia in extra time in the semifinals of the World Cup Russia 2018 and 3 missed penalties in the final of Euro 2020 against Italy.

With these results, England has now gone 56 years without being able to lift a championship trophy in a major competition and they hope to break this streak in Qatar, where they are one of the favorite teams to win.

With this favorite status and having most of the players from the best leagues in the world in their ranks, the English are aiming for Qatar to return to the world’s elite to fight for the Cup they won in 1966.

Gareth Southgate’s goal is to have a young but experienced squad, where the leader of the group will be Harry Kane, Tottenham’s star striker, but surround him with players like Kalvin Phillips, Trent Alexander-Arnold, and Bukayo Saka among others who can generate many scoring chances for their captain.

Similarly, we can point out that England’s current situation on the eve of the Qatar 2022 World Cup is not very encouraging, since, in the UEFA Nations League, they finished in last place in their group without winning a single match and drawing 3 of them, which caused them to be relegated to League B of this competition.

How will England get to Qatar 2022 World Cup?

England has just qualified for the Qatar 2022 World Cup after finishing first in its group with 26 points, having won 8 matches and drawn 4.

  • FIFA Ranking: 5th
  • Coach: Gareth Southgate
  • Goals per game: 2.80
  • Star Player: Harry Kane

Harry Kane, England’s Captain

Harry Kane is England’s main figure for this Qatar 2022 World Cup. Kane, a striker for Premier League side Tottenham, has 48 goals for England and more than 240 goals for Tottenham, but at the age of 29, he has yet to win a professional trophy.

Thanks to a large number of betting sites that currently exist on the internet, it is possible to make predictions on how many goals a player will score in a certain event, and the Qatar 2022 World Cup will be no exception. Please check the bet365 review if you want to know all other betting markets, besides how many goals Harry Kane can score in this World Cup.

England’s group in the Qatar 2022 World Cup

The English have been drawn into a group with Iran, United States, and Wales, where, a priori, they will have to make a difference in the group stage, but they have some time to test themselves to put together the squad they want.

Group B

  • England
  • Iran
  • United States
  • Wales

England’s fixtures at Qatar 2022

Matchday 1

  • England Iran – Monday, November 21 – Khalifa International Stadium.

Matchday 2

  • England United States – Friday, November 25 – Al Bayt Stadium.

Matchday 3

  • England Wales – Tuesday, November 29 – Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium.

Possible England squad for Qatar 2022


  • Jordan Pickford (Everton)
  • Nick Pope (Burnley)
  • Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)


  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
  • Conor Coady (Wolves)
  • Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace)
  • Reece James (Chelsea)
  • James Justin (Leicester City)
  • Harry Maguire (Manchester United)
  • John Stones (Manchester City)
  • Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United)
  • Kyle Walker (Manchester City)
  • Ben White (Arsenal)


  • Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Conor Gallagher (Crystal Palace, on loan from Chelsea)
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea)
  • Kalvin Phillips (Leeds United)
  • Declan Rice (West Ham)
  • James Ward-Prowse (Southampton)


  • Tammy Abraham (Roma)
  • Jarrod Bowen (West Ham)
  • Phil Foden (Manchester City)
  • Jack Grealish (Manchester City)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham) – Captain
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)